PDA

View Full Version : discus names i am lost

jim from sydney
Wed Dec 15, 2004, 01:00 AM
Hi All experts

now as i am new to discusss i can be excused for asking silly questions...i am glad you agree.
I am lost with the names for discus.....how are these determined.....i have looked everywhere on the web and cannot find the basic fish shapes or whatever i need to look for, to determine a type/name of discus.
most tell me there are the basic 4 types and the rest is a deriviation from these......but even within these basic 4 types it is diffucult ....so how does one do this naming bit??????????????? :?: :?: :?:

Trebs
Wed Dec 15, 2004, 03:14 AM
The naming is a bit all over the place. I saw a few fish on the weekend called 'Oriental dream discus'. I'm not sure what mind expanding substances were used when coming up with that one. I'd call them red spotted snakes.

I bought my 'Moody Red Snakeskins' from a LFS (see my post in the photo album section). They where labelled 'Brown Discus' I got them at a steal and I knew what they were. At SLS they have fish that are practically the same called 'San Merah'. I've also seen very similar called 'tomato red' and 'rose red'.

I also bought a pair of golden pidgeons, 1 was a snake. They were labelled 'pidgeons'.

Not that this really helps you a lot but just goes to show the variation out there.

Fro
Wed Dec 15, 2004, 03:46 AM
I call mine Frank and Bruce. I had an Andrew but he died

kevkoi
Wed Dec 15, 2004, 09:53 AM
There is a book just published (as yet, not officially released) which carefully cronographs the development of modern discus strains. It details how each base coloured fish was developed and the ensuing names to all fish which are technically the same.

Basically goes into detail about what was crossed with what and worked how many generations to perfect the line. Also details the discovery of mutations in discus.