Thread: Life of Matrix

Larvae

Life of Matrix

Hi
    I was wondering how long does Matrix last before you need to wash,soak,or replace it ?
    At one stage of its life the 3-30 micron range pores must start to clog up making the water simply flow around it or even making the inside of the blocked Matrix toxic ?
    Can anybody enlighten me on this please

thx
    Billy
    Primitive fish have been around for millions of years become an Ancient fish keeper
    .......................................Jurassic fish are tested with time.......................................

Billy I give the matrix and noodles in my canister filters a quick wash in tank water each time the filter floss in changed, usually each month.

That keeps the matrix relatively clean. Bacteria can be smothered by the accumulated debris clinging to the matrix.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Larvae
    Quote Originally Posted by ladyred
    Billy I give the matrix and noodles in my canister filters a quick wash in tank water each time the filter floss in changed, usually each month.

That keeps the matrix relatively clean. Bacteria can be smothered by the accumulated debris clinging to the matrix.
    Thanks for the info on the way you clean yours.
    This is what seachem said
    Hello,
    You can gently rinse Matrix against itself to remove any
    slime the bacteria produce on the substrate every few
    months. It depends on bio-load and how dirty the water is.
    Never replace all of your bio filtration at
    once, because it will remove your beneficial bacteria. It
    is a good idea to replace some Matrix a few times a
    year to add new places for bacteria to colonize.
    Seachem Support
    Tech Support

thx
    Rat
    Primitive fish have been around for millions of years become an Ancient fish keeper