Larvae

Microworms as fry food - or vice versa?

I've tried feeding microworms to my German Blue Ram & Alto. Compressiceps fry, but when I do, I always get the horrid feeling that it's actually the microworms that are munching the fry! I've observed them with a magnifying glass, and it's unnerving to watch - I usually end up rescuing the fry and placing them in a fresh container. Are microworms carnivorous, given the chance? Would they eat fry that are too small to eat them?

Yikes - microworms eat carbohydrates, oats, wheat, potato. Don't think they eat fry, well I hope not anyway. But then again, I've never watched them under a magnifying glass
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Larvae
    Thanks Ladyred; makes me feel just a leeeeeettle bit better about the microworms.

I have read a lot of literature starting that newly hatched artemia has the best nutrition over all live food that can be fed to baby fish.

Larvae
    I was hatching bbs for over a year, but all too frequently I'd loose a batch, and then I'd be stuck trying to feed something.... anything.... to the fry. The microworms seemed like a sensible alternative?

Looks like I'll just have to bite the bullet and start hatching them again. Though, think de-capsulating them will make at least some difference. I could feed the de-capsulated bbs to the fry, even if they don't "hatch", couldn't I?[/i]

Medium Discus
    BBS is too big for ram fry at early stage. Need to use something smaller like microworm, vinegar eel, etc (from what I've heard).

Thomas.

Larvae
    i was told to feed the rams fry with brine shrimp food ...

or you could try to get some liquifry no 1 ...

- andrie -

San Merah Discus
    I agree with the liquifry No1 option. There is also a powdered fry food from Sera. When they get a bit bigger you can hit them with frozen BBS.