Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Medium Discus

Filters for breeding tanks

What sort of filter can someone recommend me for a breeding set up.
    Ive got a 2 foot tank Bout 80l, I thinking about going bare bottom.
    My pair of turqs currently live in a gravel bottom tank, does the change upset the fish

I like to use just a really simple sponge filter in my breeding tanks. With the amount of water changes you should be doing, there will be no chance of ammonia build up. A well cycled sponge filter will do a great job in the breeding tank, and the fry like to pick food off it.

Once the fry are a bit older, I will transfer over a small cannister filter, as well as the sponge. Works a treat.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Medium Discus
    Thanks for the advice merrilyn I will use a sponge filter, what about the difference introducing my fish to a non gravel bottom

Yeah, it usually does freak them out for a couple of days, but they get over it. I give them two breeding cones, one in each corner to begin with. Gives them another place to hide. You can remove it once they have selected a cone for their eggs.

If you want to make the transition a bit easier, paint the outside of the bottom of the tank with black paint. Helps to stop the glare.

Medium Discus
    Is it more beneficial to use a bare bottom tank, Its alway concerned me about bacteria, I feel gravel is a good spot for bacteria to grow.

You're right. Gravel is a good place for the bacteria to grow. It's also a bad place for uneaten food to hide, and for tiny fry to get lost in. Bare bottom is so much easier for the parents to locate their fry, and for you to clean.

A mature sponge from a well cycled tank, along with daily water changes, will take care of all the ammonia problems in that tank.

Medium Discus