Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hatching Brine Shrimp

Does anyone optimum salinity to hatch brine shrimp. I have seen some articles say 30ppm and other 60ppm. I would like to hear from people who have experience in this.

Brine shrimp seem to have a wide tolerance. I find the addition of a half teaspoon of baking soda to the hatching bottle (usually a 2 litre coke bottle) increases the hatch rate.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Thanks for the speedy response. How much salt would you add per litre. How many litres do you use in the inverted coke bottle.

Sorry for all the questions, just so many conflicting views out there.

Note the edit above, it is baking soda from the supermarket that you need. It raises the alkalinity of the water.

Okay, well this is what I do. I get a 2 litre coke bottle, invert it into a sturdy jug or similar to hold everything upright. I cut the bottom off the bottle, and use it as a lid. That keeps the salt spray down to a minimum. Two teaspoons of cooking salt and a half teaspoon of baking soda go in the bottle, with about a litre of cool boiled water and 1/4 teaspoon of eggs.

I attach an airstone to a piece of rigid pipe to force the airstone down to the bottom of the bottle. Set it to bubble at a medium rate, just enough to allow the eggs to circulate freely. Keep in a warm place, or inside a small heated fish tank, to maintain the water at around 27 degrees.

After 24 hours, remove airstone and place a narrow torch beam near the centre of the bottle. Hatched eggshells will float, while unhatched ones sink to the bottom. After 30 minutes use a 10 ml plastic syringe (no needle) with a piece of airline tube attached to suck shrimp out of the centre of the bottle, where they have been attracted by the light.