Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Turquoise Discus

pH with new fish

Hi guys,
    I'm panicking. I know it.

Just picked up new fish from the airport (yippee). Brought them home, but my pH was still at 7.2, and they were at 6.8. So I went and bought pH down, put too much in (yes, I know). Now my pH is 6.66 - is it safe to let them out of the bags? Should I use bicarb soda first? They've been in there an awful long time.

Help please?

Have you tried adding some of your tank water to the bag to equalize things.

The longer your fish stay in there, the higher the ammonia and the lower the pH.

Take the plunge and put them in the tank now.

Don't add any water from the bags, it will be full of ammonia. Just net the fish out.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Turquoise Discus
    Yep, did that & they're all looking good. And the water has now equalised at 6.85. It was 6.7 before they went in, and the CO2 computer thing seems to be holding it at 6.8 to 6.85.

Thanks very much for your help - much appreciated as always!

Oh, did I mention they're not just looking good, they're stunning! Yay! I have the best fish ever! And that's not entirely my bias saying that! Thankyou Xtreme!

The discus are hiding down the bottom, one was initially on its side, but is up now - nothing I haven't read about - and it & the albino have just eaten.

Thanks again!

DE i am so glad they are there and now you see the fish are great not just taking our word for it . hope it all goes well good luck keep us posted , so happy for you oh stop the happy dance before you try to type haha

Turquoise Discus
    No happy dance now. Too hard with my face stuck against the glass.