PDA

View Full Version : What to do when one will not eat?

zim64half
Wed Nov 29, 2006, 03:23 AM
Howdy all. This is my first post here.

I am relatively new to Discus. I started a 72 gallon tank this past May
with 4 fish. Two snowflakes and two blue turquoise.

3 of them are still doing fine. But the smaller snowflake was basically
at the bottom of the pecking order. All of the others would chase it away,
and keep it from the food.

Eventually, about 2 weeks ago, it died. It looked very skinny and had
stopped eating completely for a few days before it died.

Now I have added 3 more discus for a total of six. Once again, they have
established a pecking order.

The new fish are a leopard snake skin, a white butterfly, and a red panda.

Most of them are about the same size (3 to 3.5 inches) with one of the
blue turquoise now growing faster than the others (also the top of the
pecking order) probably almost 4 inches now.

One of the new ones, the red panda, is now at the bottom of the pecking
order, and in the 4 days since I added them to the tank, the other 2 new
fish are eating, but the red panda still is not eating.

What can I do to make sure that even the fish at bottom of the pecking
order is getting enough to eat?

I feed them Watley's discus cubes (usually 2 of them per feeding), then
frozen brine the next day, then flake food the 3rd day, then repeat.

Even when the flake food is floating right in front if its face, the red panda
seems more concerned with watching the others than eating. It will not take a bite!

Any help apreciated.

Thanks,

-Zim

benjohnson
Wed Nov 29, 2006, 11:18 AM
Hi Zim,

4 days isn't a long time for a newly intorduce discus not to eat. The moving stress's them out, and Ihave heard can put them off their food for up to 2 weeks before they will eat again.

Realistically, within a week I would expect your new fish to start eating again, definately within 10 days.