PDA

View Full Version : velvet remedy

jazz
Mon Nov 13, 2006, 09:16 PM
I am quite new to discus and have been helped incredibly by the volume of info here so I thought to share a recent success story. I have 4 discus as well as some other groovy cohabitants and about a week after her arrival my fire leopard developed what looks like velvet ( my understanding this is a lighter sprinkling than ick?). I am an herbalist/natural remedy gal and quite bummed at the thought of putting lots of meds in the tank, quarantining, etc. I happen to have a colloidal silver generator since I use it for myself whenever ill. After reading online that at least it shouldn't reak major havoc in my aquarium I decided to take a shot. Please note, a lot of people are uncomfortable with CS but since I have a lot of positive personal experience it was more palatable for me. Also note, I read a lot of reviews online where people stated the CS had helped stave off secondary infections but not rid the velvet itself. Most of these folks noted purchasing commercially prepared cs and administering very small doses. Since I have a generator so my cost is bupkus, I added 3 qts the first time and have since added 1 quart with each regular water change. The velvet has completely cleared from the fire leopard and no other fish show symptoms! AND NO EFFECT HAS BEEN NOTED ON MY BENEFICIAL BACTERIA (no ammonia spike). Some of you might want to look into getting a basic generator ( about $50) since CS has so many applications not just for fish and pets but us people too!

fishgeek
Mon Nov 13, 2006, 09:39 PM
there is no scientific proof for any medical claims of benefit from colloidal silver

over use of these products can cause tissue discolouration and neurological issue's

it has been used for antibacterial effects, all of which can be attained with safer medications and more sound scientific understanding of effects and side effects

andrew

jazz
Mon Nov 13, 2006, 10:57 PM