PDA

View Full Version : How successfull a planted tank can be with just sand?

thabone
Mon Oct 16, 2006, 12:00 PM
Guys I'm a newbie here and I'll like to start a planted aquarium for my soon to come discus. I buyed 55 or 60 pounds of white fine sand for my 55gls tank.

I've heard that you can't have a planted aquarium with just sand as sustrate. How true is this? If this is true then what can I do?

Is there any webpage that specifies how to start a planted tank?

Ideas and suggestions are welcome.

Your help is much appreciated.

Noddy65
Mon Oct 16, 2006, 12:09 PM
Heres a pic of my tank with just a gravel/fine gravel substrate..

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a378/Noddy65/4latest.jpg

I have high light and inject CO2 and fertilise to supply the plants with their nutrients...

Mike

TomNS
Mon Oct 16, 2006, 12:17 PM
mike tank looks great what ferts do you use ?

I was hoping someone had an australian PMDD version or something similar

Cheers Tom

Noddy65
Mon Oct 16, 2006, 12:41 PM
Hi Tom...I sort of use the EI method...I use dry ferts...KH2PO4, Mg SO4,Potassium sulphate and Potassium Nitrate but don't stick strictly to the EI method. I find algae issues if I do...
I suppose Ivee spent $40 on dry ferts and they've lasted me more than year so far..I also use Seachem Iron and Flourish as traces. I would dose maybe once or twice a week.
Again Ive spent about $40 on traces and its lasted me more than a year but if you read around there are cheaper traces to use (Yates). Im gonna give them a shot when Ive used up my Seachem stuff.
It's a 4 x 2 x 2 tank.

Mike

thabone
Mon Oct 16, 2006, 05:36 PM
Don't want to be mean but you guys are talking about some high tech stuff. Those are complicated things for a newbie.

I'm just learning my way up and you haven't answered my question yet. I'm not talking about gravel or nutrients yet.

I'm talking about using sand as sustrate for a planted aquarium. This aquarium is planned to be a low light for less or none buffers added.