PDA

View Full Version : discus keeping

davwato
Wed Jul 26, 2006, 10:20 AM
I have been keping discus for 2 years now with no death and i rekon all this chemical thing you wotty about is a load of rubbish. All i worry about is the ph and thats it all this hardness and amonia is nonsence.

(*Moderator's edit of crude language* Please note this is a family forum)

discusmaster
Wed Jul 26, 2006, 10:57 AM
Mate, you have to be kidding.

Go on then. let your ammonia spike, see how long your fish survive in the toxicity.

As a first post you have shown yourself to be a moron, are you sure your name isnt Rytis?

:roll:

davwato
Wed Jul 26, 2006, 11:00 AM
no seriouly i never check my fish chemical levels except ph and out of my 8 discus none have ever been sick or died

Proteus
Wed Jul 26, 2006, 11:06 AM
In your original post you stated that you dont worry about the ammonia or hardness. You did not say you didnt worry about testing for it.

I have had tanks which I havent checked any levels aside from pH for 2-3 years and have never had a problem. If your pH remains stable then that means you have a good level of Carbonate Hardness (KH), if your pH starts to drop it also can mean a slow build up of Nitrates.

i.e. If you know your stuff, pH can give an indication of many other levels.

General Hardness (GH) is not a huge factor with keeing Discus unless you come from an area that does have hard water or high TDS levels, then other mediums are utilised to balance this.

mcloughlin2
Wed Jul 26, 2006, 11:18 AM
Mate , i dont test for ammonia unless i see a change in my fish's behavior ...

But that does not mean its a load of rubbish ...

Do some research and see the hard scientific proof that is available on ammonia ...

I personally have lost fish because of it so i can tell you it is not a load of crap ...