PDA

View Full Version : hi, and want Discus?

zeb_nz
Sun Jul 16, 2006, 08:07 AM
hi

I am wanting a planted discus tank and i have a few Q.

<-> what is the rarest breed of discus
<-> how many could i keep in a 75 gallon?
<-> what fish shoudnt i keep with discus?
<-> Can i keep terquoise and Blood pigions together? and can they breed?

Thanks

fish_r
Sun Jul 16, 2006, 11:47 AM
i'm no expert on discus "far from it"
i have a 75g pretty heavilly planted
i have 8 discus in there, probably all i'll go. "maybe two more" but that would be the max i will go
i have rummy nose tetra's, harlequin rasbora, clown loaches,SAE's. bristle nose and neon tetras, but have since read neons arnt the best choice, cardinals are better. i have 2 x turq and 2 x pigeons and no real dramas.
not sure on the rarest breed ?
think ud'e be better asking what u can put with discus rather than what u cant. "check out the tank mates section too...

goldenpigeon
Sun Jul 16, 2006, 11:55 AM
rarest discus, something along the lines of an albino, you owuldnt come across the rarest strain in Australia or NZ thoagh. were you looking to buy it or just wanted to know what is rare at the moment?

G-1000
Mon Jul 17, 2006, 12:46 AM
In terms of mainstream strains, a red gold diamond (RGD) or a golden leopard spotted snakeskin (GLSS) are the rarest to obtain atm. Obviously albino variants of these will be rarer, but they dont look the best atm.

G

zeb_nz
Thu Jul 20, 2006, 07:40 AM
can i keep clown and BN with them?

fish_r
Thu Jul 20, 2006, 03:32 PM
yes, i have both and no problems at all, just bear in mind loaches can get pretty big, from what iv'e read u should put the loaches in at least groups of 3

samir
Thu Jul 20, 2006, 03:48 PM
the rarer the breed the more the inbreeding. i wouldn't recommend keeping something like an albino to start off with. get the hang of it with some nice solid turks and then try your hand at the more expensive ones...