PDA

View Full Version : First Time Parents - Secone time around white eggs

SandyLynne
Fri Jul 07, 2006, 10:38 PM
I am so excited. :D

When I woke this morning I found eggs laid on the plants and glass.

This couple were acting strange last night so I did suspect a little romance but wow this is exciting. I know they eggs or fry will probably not survive as they are in a community tank but I certainly didn't think these 2 were in any relationship.

Any help in sexing them would be greatly appreciated. I am new to this and wouldn't have a clue. :oops:

goldenpigeon
Sat Jul 08, 2006, 12:12 AM
hey there! congratulations! the blue looks to be the male :D

are you going to get them a breeding tank for their next spawn?

SandyLynne
Sat Jul 08, 2006, 12:48 AM
Hi goldenpigeon

Thankyou for your reply. I have read so many articles in this forum and think I practically live here and want to thank everyone for their valuable input.

I have read many articles on sexing discus but still cannot work it out. As far as breeding Discus I think that is the ultimate of all Discus owners but never dreamt I would have the oppotunity. I would certainly love to get a breeding tank and have a go at it but am concerned at how time consuming it is. I have heard that some people give up their day job to raise fry, but is this really necessary.

Is breeding discus any more time consuming?

Will I have a life if I get into breeding? :lol:

I have attached a few more photos.
They were named Tom & Alice but I never new the sex of them. Then Tom developed a fat tummy so thought maybe he was a she? Tom is definately the dominant and gets Alice working.

I have 6 kids but feel like a clucky Mummy again. I feel silly but also excited. :roll:

goldenpigeon
Sat Jul 08, 2006, 01:10 AM
from looking at those pictures the blue is definetly the male and orange is female.

they are very nice fat fish! should be very proud of yourself!

if you breed discus will you have a life? YES!