PDA

View Full Version : feeding question

fish_r
Thu Jun 15, 2006, 09:01 PM
as i'm new to discus i would like some advise on feeding please ?
only had my discus for about a week now and all they seem to eat is the live black worms. i have a few other fish in there "mainly tetra's" and feed them spirulina, tetramin tropical flakes and tetra colour but the discus dont seem interested in that at all. also got some new life spectrum discus formula pellets but they wont eat them either and they just sink into my substrate.
i also got some live brine shrimp the other day, do i just tip some into the tank with the water they come in "sorry if thats a silly question" but iv'e never used them b4 ? i also have frozen bloodworms frozen brine shrimp, and beef heart but havn't tried it yet "should i"
thanks for ur help
Rob...

marg
Fri Jun 16, 2006, 01:08 AM
Rob,

With the live Brine Shrimp just get a small strainer and strain some out of the pouch then put them in the tank. I have used them in the past but am not a big fan of them as they seem to die too quickly in those little pouches (maybe that's the fault of my local Fish Shop, I'm not sure).

When you are introducing new Foods try to offer them for breakfast - my theory is that they will have gone all night without a meal and that will be when they are at their hungriest. All the Foods that you have should agree with them.

The reason that they are reluctant to eat at the moment is most likely because you have only had them for a week and they are a bit disoriented at the moment. This often happens wqhen you add new Fish to your tank but give them a little time and they will settle in.

Your next post will most likely be how come they are hungry all the time (because Discus are real "hungry guts" once they settle in, and will rush to the front of the tank seemingly saying "Feed me") :D :D :D .