PDA

View Full Version : Shipping Discus.

Waldo
Mon May 22, 2006, 02:02 AM
Hello peeps. I'm a newbie here but I've been in the hobby some time. I thought a discus forum would be a great place to ask this question as all research has lead to dead ends.

First off I am an exporter of Peruvian/Brazilian fish. I've been interested in discus and I prefer wild caught fish over domestic. Because of freight being so costly I figured I would just wait until I had adiquite facilities to maintain a larger group for stock.

I got back from interzoo last week where I had an interesting discussion with some OFI members on shipping angels and discus. It goes like this...,

In the wild discus and angels during the dry season are triggered into a sort of hybernation by lower water levels. By simply lowering the water in the tank the fish uses less oxygen and holds waist inside it's body to prepair for what might soon become a dry pool. By shipping discus in water deep enough to cover the width of the fish you are triggering the same thing as in the wild. Any one want to confirm this?

Thanks Waldo

Merrilyn
Mon May 22, 2006, 04:49 AM
Hello Waldo, welcome to the forum.

That's a avery interesting theory. I still think the time they could be held in plastic bags would be limited. I have shipped and received quite a number of discus and angels. When shipping by air, the biggest cost factor is the weight, so naturally all the shippers use the minimum of water. As you say, just enough to cover the dorsal fin. Large discus need to be bagged individually to prevent damage to each other, so the cost will always be high. I also starve my fish for 24 hours before shipping, so that the waste eliminated in the bag will be minimal.

Not sure about the fish holding the waste inside. I do believe this would cause a lot of problems with toxic buildup within the fish. The fish may well cut down on the food it consumes in the wild, which would naturally reduce the waste produced.