PDA

View Full Version : Discus friend

pepe
Sun May 07, 2006, 10:12 PM
Hi everyone im new to discus i have 4 now for 3 months they are thriving
but i have this Silver dollar with them he thinks hes a Discus he follow them every where and hangs out with them.
every thing seem ok ,but people have told not to put a Silver Doller with Discus becouse they are to skittish he seems to only get skittish at feeding time or if they swim away with out him i dont think he bothers them but im not sure.

G-1000
Mon May 08, 2006, 09:46 AM
Do not put silver dollars with discus.

Discus will do better if in a species tank.

G

Nathan
Mon May 08, 2006, 10:32 AM
yea i wouldnt put a sliver dollar with them either, i may be wrong but cant silver dollars get a bit agressive aswel?

nathan

mcloughlin2
Mon May 08, 2006, 11:39 AM
There are always exceptions..

By the sound of it, your silver dollar has grown up with the discus? And there has been no obvious signs of aggressive?

I'd say it depends and if there are no nipped fins, etc you should be fine.... :P

lesxda
Mon May 08, 2006, 09:39 PM
I have not had silver dollars with discus but with an angle who keeps the 4 silver dollars in there place. he has half the tank and the 4 silver dollars have the rest.

but I have bristlenose catfish witch I need to ask the group about as I saw the other night jumping on the side of my adult disuc and the discus racing and trying to shake them off..

Is it normal for bristlenose to do this.

les

marg
Mon May 08, 2006, 11:58 PM
lesdxa,

Usually Bristlenose & Discus can live together happily and the Bristlenoses don't usually bother the Discus - but I have heard that occasionally Bristlenoses can get a taste for the Discus' Slime Coat.

I have a little colony of Bristlenoses in my Community tank together with my Discus', Clown Loach, Knife Fish, Rams and Tetra's and have never had any worries however if I were having this problem with my Bristlenoses I would remove the culprits asap.,

Regards,