PDA

View Full Version : Worming

Dearra
Tue May 02, 2006, 01:19 PM
Hi everyone. As I am only new to owning Discus, I have found this forum to be very informative. I have read and learnt so much in the past few weeks. But could somebody please explain to me, how do you know if a fish needs worming. I never knew you had to worm a fish. Is it something you do on a regular basis. I would appreciate any advice I could get.

Thanks Dearra

Inspiringfish
Tue May 02, 2006, 07:24 PM
Hello Dearra, There is alot of information on de-worming. See "should I deworm" on the forum. there are others also. What I gathered through this site is that you should de-worm twice a year using a medication called Levamisole. Search around on this forum,,, you'll find a ton of stuff!!

See LadyRed, I can do it, I can be helpful!! :wave2

dntx5b9
Tue May 02, 2006, 08:15 PM
I don't understand de-worming. If the fish has worms, then, OK, de-worm. But once you get rid of the worms, why would have to de-worm regulary, like twice a year? What are people doing to re-introduce worms so often? I had my one discus for almost a year, and not knowing about de-worming, haven't. That doesn't necessarily mean my discus automatically has worms, right? Just wondering ...

Cliffeh
Tue May 02, 2006, 08:27 PM
Some foods, plants and other fish can introduce worms by accident so I guess unless you are feeding dry food and keeping the environment locked down there is a chance of worms... there are two school of thought... firstly those that worm as a matter of course and secondly those that only do it in response to symptoms such as a good appetite but looking thin etc.

Like Inspiringfish says there is a lot of detail if you search around Dearra but only you can decide if you need to.