PDA

View Full Version : should I stay on red alert ?

uletbulu
Fri Apr 28, 2006, 08:39 PM
I am pretty new to discus and this forum, but after a good deal of reading I find that my discus dont look like they are in tip top shape, please bear with me for writing such a long post, and any ideas or opinion are highly appreciated

currently I have 14 discus between 2-5 inchies,

tank parameters

200 gal heavily planted tank
ammonia: 0
nitrite: 0
nitrate: 40
phospate: 1
pH: 6.4
temp: 86-88

and here are my concerns:
1. my blue daimond has roundish looking patch on his body, looks like a peck mark but i am not sure, but its really cicular, what is this patchy looking marks ?

2. during morning or evening hours they are active and moving about alot (scavenging, squabling, etc), but during afternoon hours between 12noon-4ish, they like to hang out at one side of the tank under the powerhead kinda just sitting there, is this normal ?

3. 1 red snakeskin lately seems to like to hang out under the filter, he doesnt show any ill symptoms except for the hiding (bright color, no stress bar, no cloudy eyes, eating well, not emanciated), is this someting to watch out for ?

4. the other snakeskin, has been black since the day i got him home which was approx 2 months ago, eating well, clear eyes, not skinny, no fin clamp, but black, no stringy white poo, and fiesty little bugger. what is wrong here ?

5. average breathing rate for the 4 inchers are about 90-100 per min, i think that is too high, is this something to watch out for ?

6. 10 out of the 14, seems to change colors, sometimes they are dark but not dark like a discus at heavens door usually when i am not near the tank, but color up real bright when i come closer to the tank. the other 4 doesnt seem to change color these are the 2 marlboro reds and the 2 snowflake

at the moment I dont have pictures, but if any pictures are needed to make a suggestion, let me know, i will try to catch a pic