PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Red Melon Juvies

jho51e
Sun Apr 23, 2006, 06:05 AM
How much would they be sold for? so i know how much to save.. :-)

samir
Sun Apr 23, 2006, 07:05 AM
were you looking for ?

jho51e
Sun Apr 23, 2006, 07:10 AM
just 1 or 2... i have a modest budget so thought juvies would be within my budget... i am just starting out and i just love the colour of red melons... :-)

samir
Sun Apr 23, 2006, 07:22 AM
discus tend to do best in groups of 6 upwards. you should be looking at a bare minimum of 4.

jho51e
Sun Apr 23, 2006, 02:05 PM
oh i see, i currently have 2 so i guess i will need to get 4 more...

i would like to get red melon/mandarin passion/red golden diamond/oriental dreams/rose red...

so i thought to get them one at a time and now all i need is to start saving! :-)

goldenpigeon
Mon Apr 24, 2006, 01:40 AM
ATM you would probably want to steer away from the oriental dreams and the red gold diamonds. basically from a monetary perspective. RGD arent cheap and OD's arent either. if you had to choose between the 2 go for OD lol ;)

what sort of experience do you have with discus? please correct me if im wrong but i understand you are just starting out with them? if so i would advise you to go for the red melons and rose reds and mardarin passions. they are much cheaper and with red melons you can tell the sex of them from an early age. other good strains to start out with are turquoise, blue diamond, cobalt and pigeon blood discus.

HTH

jho51e
Mon Apr 24, 2006, 01:49 AM
Hi goldenpigeon,

Yes I am an novice at keeping discus and reading through all the advice on keeping discus...
have 2 small ones at the moment (i think fr help of the forum 1 is a red turq and the other looks like a blue diamond cross)...

anthrax mentioned that they are better if in groups of 4/6 so thought to get some companions for them...

really love the bold colours of the strains i mentioned... so thought to get some of those... rather than all of the same...