PDA

View Full Version : agro male

m1
Sun Apr 09, 2006, 02:52 PM
Hi all :wave
just came across this site, some good info thanks :D

my discus recently spawned and the parents have done a great job so far but in the last few days the male is getting very aggresive towards the female. the fry are about 5 weeks old and i was planning to move them to a suitable raising tank in the hope that the parents would spawn again. the problem is the male is getting increasingly aggressive to the point where he is constantly chasing her around.
should i put them back in the main tank for a break?
should i try a new female as the male spawned with 2 females when he was in the main tank?
is this common?

thanks any info would be appreciated :wink:

marg
Sun Apr 09, 2006, 10:27 PM
m1,

I'm no expert, but it sounds like he wants her to spawn again and she is not ready.

I'd put them in a tank with a divider between them for a while and give her a rest, that might work. I had the same problem recently - i separated them and now they are back together and happy as can be.

Regards,

Marg.

goldenpigeon
Sun Apr 09, 2006, 11:40 PM
i have a similar problem with my red turqs

at the moment i have a "psycotic breeding trio of bisexual discus" *mouthful lol*

there is one definate male and one definate female. the other looks to be a male but it is extremely hard for me to tell at this point because it is a very large fish however it has had some huge fights with the male and it has had some romance with him aswell. it has also been with the female.

the other night there was a lot of fighting between the lot of them and the female was spawning but the other 2 were fighting a fair bit so i didnt see their breeding tubes down. then they both started pounding the female!!!!!! these are all big fish an a 80L tank i think it is so i have moved them to a 3ft tank with my elephant nose and a few bn.