PDA

View Full Version : New Member :) Looking For Help.

steven_askham
Tue Mar 28, 2006, 09:12 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this forum and it appears to be very good and have nice, friendly members. Any way I am only 16 years old however I have been keeping tropical fish for approx 2 years and have bred a number of fish: livebearers (obviously), Angelfish, Kribensis, Bristlenose plecs, German Blue Ram, Convicts, Rainbow Cichlid and the Sea Frog Pufferfish. I have been published in a fishkeeping magazine this year for the article I written regarding the sea frog pufferfish. :)

Now I am trying discus, not to breed however that is my aim in the long run however I am just wanting a nice show tank at the moment. So here is the story so far....

About 7 monthes ago I purchased 4 small discus from a lfs, and they got along great except one who was very small and scranny, I think he got picked on. He died near christmas time so that only left three. Therefore I added another two. But now alot of the discus hide in my decor and have not seemed to grow much.

The other day I visited a lfs that I had never been to before and I was amazed at the tank containing full sized discus. It was the first time I have seen fully grown ones in reall life i.e. not just an image and I was amazed. I loved the tank as it did not contain much and theefore the discus could not hide so they were visible at all times. The discus were following people around the tank etc ... I loved it!

So I want to know how the tank should be; bearing in mind I still want it to be a show tank. (Images would be great) I know that in the future I will neeed to get rid of some of the discus due to potential size, but I am hoping to obtain a breeding pair from 5 juvi's that I have. In the tank there is also 2 bristlenose plecos and a breeding pair of rams. Water checks etc are fine. P.H. is 6.5.

The tank size is 36 x 18 x 18 (inch

sammigold
Wed Mar 29, 2006, 01:25 AM