PDA

View Full Version : Help needed

UK Discus
Tue Mar 21, 2006, 08:13 PM
Just like to say a big hello to everybody,and what a great forum this is. I have been reading it for the past few months to learn as much as I can about these great fish.
I have kept fish for years but this is my first time with Discus.
Now to my problem I started my fish room 2 months ago and everything was going well until Sunday when one of my heaters stuck on and Killed 10 of my 11 Tefe Green Discus, I very slowly did a 100 LTR water change to bring the temperature down and the 1 remaining Discus has been OK since, but the problem I am having with Him is he is Hiding all the time behind the filter and wont come out,when he is out as soon as I go in the room he darts about all over the tank until he finds somewhere to hide. My plan was to leave him in this tank until I knew he was completely over the shock, before putting him with some of the other Discus I have as I am worried if his has come down with something he might pass it on to my other fish. But now I am worried as he is by himself and acting in this way he is been stressed even more.
my options are :
leave by himself to make sure he does not come down with something,
put him with some more Discus to see if helps him been in a group
or I have some Angels that I could put in with him to see if that helps
Could someone with more experience with Discus than me please advise me what is the best to do.

Thanks
Mark

Daetarek
Tue Mar 21, 2006, 09:12 PM
Hi Mark,

Welcome to DF :)

well it sounds like shock a little, but mostly he is lonely i would suggest, as i have learned from this site and experience they need to be in a group of at least 6 otherwise they get very scared :(

I suggest putting him in a group with others and he will come back out of his shell :) He will probably be jumpy for a few weeks yet even in a new tank, and also he may have suffered some injury from the higher temps, does he look ok ? is he breathing proper etc ?