PDA

View Full Version : What is a Sump ?

Daetarek
Sat Mar 04, 2006, 03:03 AM
Hi Guys,

I have seen this thrown around and on tanks etc, just not sure what it does and how it works :(

can someone enlighten me please ?

ta
Rob

sharn
Sat Mar 04, 2006, 11:01 AM
well from what i understand you have a hole drilled into your tank at the height you want the water level to be (called an over flow) the water goes out there, down the tubes into the sump, which is normally a spare tank filled with media and other bits and pieces, sometimes heaters too! then a powerhead doing the required LPH pumps water out of the sump and back into the tank and it goes on and on like that. im not too good at explaining things so hopefully someone will give you a more indepth answer if you need it :wink:

most people only use them on large tanks, ones that arent practile to use normal filters with but they are excellent from what ive read!

tommy110011
Sun Mar 05, 2006, 07:02 AM
Sumps are good for large flow rates but they are noisy as they are open loop system, meaning the water flow inside the sump is not enclosed and therefore not pressurised, unlike in a cannister filter.

Sumps are very useful for hiding equipment which would otherwise be inside the tank, such as heaters, CO2 etc.

Sumps also increase your total water volume and keep the level in your tank constant as it is the sump that evaporates and not the tank.

Daetarek
Sun Mar 05, 2006, 11:08 PM
so useless on a 4ft tank ... but when we get to 6ft its not a bad idea ?

i also heard that they can have something to do with a water change system, whats that when its at home ?

marg
Sun Mar 12, 2006, 11:44 PM
Hi Daetark,

I wasa talking to Goldenpigeon about Sumps yesterday and he informed me that he is going to set one up.

G.P. said that he was going to have a talk to Ben about it before he did, as Ben is apparently pretty smart when it comes to these things.