PDA

View Full Version : PH 7.4 Tap Water

discus_maniac
Sun Feb 12, 2006, 10:34 AM
Merrilyn i need some help regarding the PH reading from the tap water.
As you know my blue discus is currently in a hospital tank on medication from HEX. I was about to do W/C and noticed the PH level is around 7.4, should i increase the ACID to my hospital tank???

ozarowana
Tue Feb 14, 2006, 02:40 AM
You don't need to lower pH for HEX treatment.

Merrilyn
Tue Feb 14, 2006, 03:05 AM
Hi DM, a pH of 7.4 is perfectly acceptable for keeping discus.

I wouldn't worry ab out altering the pH of your hospital tank.

A stable pH is more important than the "correct" pH.

HTH

Kristysky
Tue Feb 21, 2006, 07:20 AM
Hi I'm new to Discus keeping but would like to know what is the ideal situation for Discus keeping - looking at ph, temp. plants yes or no, kind of rocks? Filters, air filtration, gravel.
The tank is 5ft long, one and a half high and same wide. I know to let the tank run at least six weeks with fish-(what tropical fish? Would mollies be ok?I know not to put angels in)before putting the first lot of discus in. Then which type of discus for beginers please? Any sure information is appreciated

G-1000
Tue Feb 21, 2006, 07:28 AM
The ideal environment for discus is water temp around 30 degrees, pH or 6.5 to 7, reasonably soft water (GH and KH wise although this is essentially until you wish to breed them).

Planted tanks are good to keep nitrates in check and allow for a little more o2 in the tank, but is hard to clean.

Barebottom is they way to go, easy to keep clean and water quality is thus much better in them.

Just my 2 cents

G

Merrilyn
Tue Feb 21, 2006, 08:12 AM
Hi Kristysky and welcome to the forum.

This is part of a post I just wrote to another member. I think you may find it helpful. ...............

Okay, now some simple rules to get you started.