PDA

View Full Version : Ph,Kh,Gh?

BigFoot
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 11:37 AM
Hi All

I am new to discus and this board I was wanting to know what do you run in terms of kh ph and gh? Some people tell that grow out of juvies is good in water of a Ph of 6.0 to 8.0 and a some high hardness would you agree or diagree with this? Thanks

DR.V
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 02:06 PM
6.0 - 8.0 thats a big range !! Discus prefer pH 6.5 but I keep my discus at pH 7, this is tap water without adding anything like pH down.

Where do you live ?? Sydney's water have a perfect hardness, so you dont have to mess around with this.

HTH

BigFoot
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 09:53 PM
I live in Cincinnati Ohio, USA. So what PH and water hardness does this forum recondmend?

BigFoot
Wed Jan 11, 2006, 09:59 PM
Ps I am not asking about breeding pars as i know this is much different just about growout fish.

DR.V
Thu Jan 12, 2006, 03:07 AM
What is your tap water's pH ? Do you age your water ?
Sometimes after you age your water for about 24 hours, the pH will change slightly.
I would suggest around pH 6.5 - 7.

BigFoot
Thu Jan 12, 2006, 11:36 AM
Yes i do age my water in a 55 gal barrel for 24 to 48 hours. The ph is running at 8.0 after ageing.

Mulisha
Thu Jan 12, 2006, 12:18 PM
Well maybe adding some peat moss to your aging drum to lower the ph down a bit becuase a ph of 7.5 is fine so your close to be being perfect but like they say "It's better not to have the perfect PH is better to have a stable one".

HTH :)

BigFoot
Thu Jan 12, 2006, 05:02 PM
Well maybe adding some peat moss to your aging drum to lower the ph down a bit becuase a ph of 7.5 is fine so your close to be being perfect but like they say "It's better not to have the perfect PH is better to have a stable one".

HTH :)

The most logical question i can think of now is how long will take the ph to drop using peat? cuz i like to change at least 30% a day in all my tanks reguardless of the fish.

Mulisha
Fri Jan 13, 2006, 01:14 AM