PDA

View Full Version : Metro Med.

Mak
Fri Jan 06, 2006, 04:41 AM
Hi All,

This is my first time here and all the information provided is excellent.

All the info here has helped me figure out what's wrong with my discus.

Now...i need help getting some metro tablets. I've tried most of the vets around my area and none will prescribe it. I don't know how else to get it and i'm in need for it.

I have 8 discus, 10 bristlenose all small and 10 cardinal tetras. The bn and tetras are fine just my discus have gone dark, hiding in the corner and 6 of them have stopped eating now and i've seen white poo come from 5 of them so far :(
This started to happen 4 days ago. I've added some medication and done 20% water change everyday and still no avail.

Please help.

I'm from Melbourne btw and live in the west.

goldenpigeon
Fri Jan 06, 2006, 05:58 AM
it sounds like your discus have discus plague. have you noticed their fins have started rotting?

a melbourne member might be able to help you aquaire metro.

goldenpigeon
Fri Jan 06, 2006, 06:01 AM
http://www.discusforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4766&start=0

this link might be useful

Littlefish
Fri Jan 06, 2006, 08:37 AM
Have you had a look at the sticky "Fish friendly vets" at the top of this section? It has some Melbourne vets listed - some of whom have supplied metro.

HTH

Fred

Mak
Fri Jan 06, 2006, 08:37 AM
Thanks for the fast reply golden :)

I had a look at the link. My discus do not have any fin rot nor white slime on them as yet but they are dark and do white poo.

I just spent some money on medicine. These are the meds i got and they are:

Waterlife - protozin
Aqua master - Fluke & tapeworm tablets
Aristopet - worm-enda poultry wormer (Active constituent: 8.48g/L Levamisole)

I'm a noob a this but i would like to know out of the above 3 what will be good to use as a treatment? The Poultry wormer isn't the sykes poultry and pig wormer brand but i'm pretty sure it's the same i might be wrong though :(