PDA

View Full Version : New To The Discus Side Of Things :D

Mulisha
Sun Nov 06, 2005, 10:31 AM
Hey guys i'm new to DF but been on Ausfish Forums a fair bit.

I'm only new person when comes to Discus and need some help off you experienced people :)

Well firstly i need to let you know what tank I have at the moment it is a 4x2x2 Ft (Moderate planted) aquarium.

Now after seeing some spectacular Discus i can't help myself and want to get some and also giving breeding a go aswell :D

I have a few ideas as I'm trying to keep set up cost to a minnium :wink:

My first job is to set up a couple of tanks :D

This is what I had in mind:

One standard 3ft tank.

Two 2ft cube tanks.

(ALL THE TANKS WILL BE BARE BOTTOM.

All three tanks would have Sponge filters and heaters and a few different bits and pieces.

Then after a couple of weeks buy 5 small Juvinile Discus not sure what type yet and put them in the 3ft tank and play the waitting game :D

Eventually in my 4x2x2 Ft tank I was thinking of putting a few Discus of the Discus the don't end up pairing off.Here is a list of the fish in my 4ft tank at the moment let me know what fish maybe could be a problem to the Discus.
And is my tank at the moment overloaded?

LIST:
4x Clown Loach (6cm)
1x Pleco (12cm)
1x Altum Angel (19cm tall)
4x Congo Tetra (10cm)
8x Serpae Tetra (3cm)
2x Glass Cats (7cm)
1x Whiptail Catfish (10cm)
4x Black Widow (5cm)
1x Pearl Gourami (8cm)
2x Flying Fox (12cm)
1x Pictus Cat (15cm)

This is the equipment currently on my 4ft planted tank:

Equipment:

2x Aqua Pro (Canister Filter) 1200L/H
5x 36w Florescent Lights (Gro Lux Tubes)
1x One complete CO2 system made by (DUPLA)
1x 300w Heater (Forgot The Brand)

I have a few questions still here they are:

When doing 4 or 5 25% W/C a week won't u loose to much good bacteria and cause ammonia in the tank or something like that?

My tap water that comes out of our (rain water tanks) has a ph of 5.0 - 5.5 and was woundering what would u suddgest i do :?