PDA

View Full Version : Treating for ich.

Mettle
Sun Oct 23, 2005, 12:26 AM
When dosing with QuICK Cure do I keep the full dose as per instructions or half it? I'm new to discus and the ones I picked up have come down with ich. :?

(Note though... I'm not new to fish and had over 10 tanks running at one time without disease for over two years. I do test my params and all are inline. The water temp is at 84F. The only thing that's a bit off in terms of keeping discus is the ph is 7.0-7.1. Which will soon be corrected.)

Thanks for any help.

Mettle
Sun Oct 23, 2005, 12:31 AM
Just to add...

The other meds I have on hand are Maracyn, Triple Sulfa and MelaFix. So if any of those would be more appropriate to try and treat with let me know.

I also have PraziPro. I'd like to do a treatment of that but don't know if it's best to treat the ich first or what?

Thanks again.

Merrilyn
Sun Oct 23, 2005, 12:02 PM
Hi Mettle, treat the ich first, before it gets out of hand. Raise your temper to 31 degrees (90 degrees F) and treat with full dose of medication following the instructions on the bottle.

I'ts important to gravel vac the bottom of the tank every day during treatment, as the mature cyst falls off the fish, to the bottom of the tank, where it butsts open and releases hundreds of free swimming parasites looking for a host fish.

The more you remove from the bottom the tank, the quicker you will be free of the problem.

Discus can quite happily tolerate high temperatures, but other breeds of fish may not. I'ts best to treat them in a bare bottom hospital tank. That way you can control the amount of medication and keep a close eye on their progress.

BTW a pH of around 7 is fine for raising your discus. If that's the way it comes out of your tap, then leave it alone. I only ever bother to drop the pH to 6.5 when I'm breeding them. All the non breeding pairs, and juveniles are in a pH of 7.

Mettle
Sun Oct 23, 2005, 01:53 PM
Thanks for the fantastic info!