PDA

View Full Version : Discus newbie

electric molecular
Sun Oct 02, 2005, 10:41 AM
Hi all,

I thought I would introduce myself as I have just signed up to this forum. It's a great resource for people like me, by the way!

Obviously I am new to keeping fish. People warned me off starting with discus but as soon as I saw a blue diamond in the local aquarium, I knew they were the fish for me. I have really enjoyed their company so far, and everything seems to be well in the tank, touch wood. I made the last additions to my tank about two weeks ago, and already these two fish have paired up and spawned!! Unfortunately they ate their eggs, but they did seem to be fertilised. I find them fascinating and find myself watching them instead of watching the TV. The way they keep shimmying at each other and cleaning a site is cute.

The other fish seem used to me now too. They remind me of dogs the way they immediately get excited when they see me pull out the yellow canister of Sera flakes. They also like to be handfed, and I find it funny the way the peck at my fingers. I was wondering how often everyone gives their discus' bloodworms? Does anyone have problems with fussy discus? Mine are pigs, but someone told me that if you give them bloodworms too often they will turn off their other food.

I have posted a pic of my favourite fish in the tank. He is probably the second or third prettiest of them, but he has a lot of personality and is definately the boss.

Darth_discus
Sun Oct 02, 2005, 10:47 AM
in my experience they can turn off food, e.g i fed them a variety for a while and introduced something new (mysis shrimp) and they kind of felt like they shouldn't eat it or something.