PDA

View Full Version : few questions about discus

rytis
Sat Sep 17, 2005, 09:50 PM
1. is it ok to feed discus choped chicken liver? i boutght it today and they seem to really like it. just want to make sure it'snot harmful to them.

2. if i got them at about 4" long, how long will it take before they start pairing up and breeding?

3. one of 9 that i bought from store, may be stunted, can that one breed or no?

the first 4 i got about 3 months ago are about 6-7" long now......

mcloughlin2
Sat Sep 17, 2005, 11:10 PM
They should be pairing up by now if they are 6-7inch long.....not sure on the chicken liver.....if u wana feed meat best to use beef heart from wat ive heard....just make sure all the fat is cut of.....

Stunted fish can breed but they will never reach full adult size.....

HTH

Sam.....

Stuart
Sun Sep 18, 2005, 12:15 AM
I am by no means an expert but I know some preparations I have bought have included Chicken Livers. The thing I know is to make sure they are totally deviod of the fat that chickens have a lot of.

nicholas76
Tue Sep 20, 2005, 05:50 AM
HI Rytis

you should feed your discus a quality pellet food like tetra bit and or discus premium. also feed frozen blood worm and brime shrimp.

beef heart mix is great but if i were you id stick to those basics for now. beef heart will pollute your planted tank to easy.

pairing up - hit amd miss proposition. only time will tell. you need to ensure the conditions are correct.

stunted fish will breed, but as discus keepers you will generally on breed fish worth breeding.

nath
Tue Sep 20, 2005, 10:28 PM
can discus intestines handle blood worm?

cheers
nath

rytis
Tue Sep 20, 2005, 10:35 PM
yea they eat bloodworms like crazy and also even more chicken liver (cheaper)

marg
Wed Sep 21, 2005, 04:08 AM
Has anyone got any recipes using Chicken Livers? My local Supermarket always has trays of them cheap - if the Discus eat them I wouldn't mind trying them on them.

Merrilyn
Wed Sep 21, 2005, 07:04 AM