PDA

View Full Version : velvet question again

bear
Sun Sep 11, 2005, 03:04 PM
Oodinium/velvet?
Hi all I have a problem with 1 of my blue diamond Discus
I’m into my 4th day of treatment with maracyn and the fish seams to be responding
The maracyn directive recommends a 5 day treatment but does not say what to do after
that period,other than to repeat if necessary?
Now my question is; when the “velvet “ appears to be gone, how long b/4 I can return the fish to the community tank that it came from and should I do anything to the tank b/4 returning the fish?
I should mention that the fish showed a trace of white on its rt. Pectoral base when I bought it, but after 2 weeks in isolation it seamed O.K. but 1 week later it started getting that dreaded blue/white cast and 1 day after that had a full blown case of “Velvet”………..In case you hadn’t noticed, I am an newbie to Discus and have lost about 8 of them in the past 6 mnts. Or so. I’ve been lurking on this forum for a while to gleen what info I could but I need help b/4 I blow anymore loot on discus at about $35-$45 us a peace in my area and have to order them sight unseen through my lfs.
Needless to say I’d appreciate any advice y’all are willing to give me T.I.A.
My water stats. Are Ph 7.1 Gh 6.72 Kh 5.6 nitrates 5-7 ppm no amm or nitrites
Regards ART (bear)

Merrilyn
Mon Sep 12, 2005, 01:05 PM
Hello Bear. Velvet is a real problem to treat. There are several posts in this section on various treatments for velvet. Have a look at the posts right at the top of the section.

Your water sounds fine for discus. How often do you do waterchanges. Our fish really do love their clean water, so changing water two or three times a week is essential.

I think the most important thing, in your case, is to get healthy fish in the first place. Sometimes it's better to order off breeders, even if they have to ship them to you, rather than sight unseen through the local fish shop.

bear
Mon Sep 12, 2005, 01:59 PM