PDA

View Full Version : Sick Discus

DarrenJThomas
Fri Aug 19, 2005, 02:27 AM
I purchased 4 juvenile discus about 6 weeks ago and all was going well. 2 days ago i noticed that one of my juvenile discus was dark in colour and decided to monitor the fish. Yesterday i noticed that the fish is still dark and hides in a log. The fish is not eating but comes out when the other fish are feeding. The discus seems to be a little off balance. Other than that all fins and skin appear fine. All other discus and fish are fine.

The LFS recommended a treatment for fluke and tapeworm so i purchased some tablets to treat both.

I thought i would get in early and ask if anyone else has had this experience.

marg
Fri Aug 19, 2005, 06:22 AM
Darren I'm no expert, but here's what I would do:

have you got a hospital tank? If you have, siphon water from the tank he is currently in and add about 25% fresh aged water and put him in it, set temp at about 30 degrees and add about 2 tablespoons of rock salt (not ordinary table salt) to 10 gallons of water and monitor him for a day or two before you do anything.

Don't just start medicating him with anything until you speak to someone from this Forum like Ladyred ( she is usually on line off and on through the day and night). Once you describe his symptoms to her she will probably be able to advise you.

I wouldn't use any medications until I spoke to her if I was you.

Merrilyn
Fri Aug 19, 2005, 12:38 PM
Hi Darren, the advice from Margot is spot on.

Sometimes fish suffer from a digestive upset, or perhaps the fish is being bullied. Giving them some time in a hospital tank, without competition for food, and a break from bullying can be a big help.

Adding a little salt to the water can help too. Do daily water changes in that tank, and observe the fish. If you notice any change in the droppings of the fish, or any other symptoms, please advise us.

DarrenJThomas
Mon Aug 22, 2005, 10:52 PM
Ok