PDA

View Full Version : Which heater should I use?

Kaiser
Fri Jul 22, 2005, 01:27 PM
I am new to discus and I just bought a 1.5m tank.
I want to know is a 200w heater enough or do I need a 300w one?
I have an old 1200l/h canister filter from previous tank. Is it big enough for the new tank??
Thanks

kazkirk
Fri Jul 22, 2005, 02:58 PM
How many liters/gallons is your 1.5m tank, they can vary greatly. I have a 1.8m (6ft) 454 liter (120 gallon) tank, and I have 3 300watt heaters in there. Two are set at 30degrees, one is set at 28 as a backup in case one fails

I also have all ebo jagers that shut off automatically since I learnt the hard way what happens when regular 300w heaters land up high and dry...not a pretty sight (nor a pretty smell :) )

kalebjarrod
Fri Jul 22, 2005, 09:12 PM
I have two heaters in my 1.8

and three in my 500 litre tank

you should consider a 300watt as well as your 200watt (use the 200watt as a backup)

your 200watt may heat the tank, but it will take much longer to heat and won't be off for any significant time period

the 300watt heaters come on, heat the water quickly then turn off

you will get a power saving from this :wink:

glstine
Fri Jul 22, 2005, 09:18 PM
I was taught it is best to have more than one undersized heater than it is to have one that can heat the whole tank. The thought being if one goes whacko it doesn't boil your fish

goldenpigeon
Fri Jul 22, 2005, 09:58 PM
i always say to use a 300W everytime. (unless ofcourse it is to big to fit in the tank) 300W heaters can save a fair bit on power and heat the water better ofcourse. if you use a 300W it will basically never be on unless it is a very large tank, because it heats the water so quickly that it might be on for about 5-10 minutes every hour or 2. i have a 6x2x2 tank with 2 300W heaters in it and i just about never see them on. i think it is bout 600 or so litres in there.