PDA

View Full Version : Another Headstander...

Benny
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 09:41 AM
Hey guys, i got a BD whos also been headstanding of late, not AS interested in food, still picks @ it tho when i put it in the tank...

It can swim horizontally, just floats stragely. between 45 degrees and 90..

find enclosed a pic,
what would u guys reccomend as a process of medicating it?

DR.V
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 12:49 PM
this is my first time seeing a discus acting like that other than picking food ... hmmm

DR.V
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 12:51 PM
I found this :
http://discusforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3558

U guys have similar problem. Good luck

Benny
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 12:56 PM
Mine hasnt got any white lumps though, which leads me to think the lil fella has overeaten, tho its been headstandin for probably 3-4 days.....

Merrilyn
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 01:51 PM
Hi Benny. Headstanding is usually caused by swim bladder disorder. Now, this can be bacterial, or it can be caused by a build up of gas in the intestine due to over eating or food fermenting in the gut.

Try the simple treatments first, like epsom salts to help remove any blockage from the gut. It acts like a laxative and should help move things along. If that has no effect, then you may need to treat with an antibiotic like metro. We've had a few of these lately. Might need to do some more reading to see if there is new research on it.

Keep us posted Benny.

Andrew Soh
Tue Jul 05, 2005, 01:53 PM
Hello Benny,
Head down or head standing may be caused by damage to the semicircular canals in the inner ear that helps it to pitch, roll and yaw. With initial and minor damage, it may recover but if infection becomes chronic where the damage is permanent, it is irreversible.

In my opinion, it is not swim bladder problem as the discus can still maintain buoyancy.

If it is swim bladder problem, it will not be able to maintain buoyancy and generally will try to swim about but once it stop swimming, it will float up.

Just my view,