PDA

View Full Version : How I Got Sucked in

marg
Sat May 28, 2005, 08:18 AM
To the reader, Beware - this is pretty long winded (a saga really) :

It's really interesting reading everyone's comments contained in this Forum. Before I first started with my Discus (approx. 2 1/2 years ago) I had a 2 foot tank with an Undergravel Filter, and being a newbie I had evrything imaginable in the tank - very overcrowded - (Angels, Mollies, Platys, Neons, Albino Catfish, Colwn Loach and a small Knifefish -you name it, I had it) :oops: . Mega Overcrowded. The people in the Fish Shop didn't tell me that my Tank was overcrowded - they wanted the Sales and I was definately a real sucker. :evil: . Around that time I bought some Fish Books and worked it out for myself - Decided I had to get a bigger Tank :!: .

I Went into the local Fish Shop to buy some Fish Food, - sighted some Discus and I was gone big time :D . I ended up giving all the Fish I had away except the Clown Loach and the Knife Fish (still have them both today), the Neons and the Catfish. Next thing I sighted a 180 Litre tank for sale at a Garage Sale so I bought it, scrimped and saved (I unfortunately am on a Disability Pension) and added a smallish Cannister Filter to the Tank together with the Undergravel Filter and over the next couple of months purchased 4 Discus - a Blue Turquoise, Red Marlboro, Blue Diamond and a Brown).

I asked the Lady at the Fish Shop how often I had to change the water (she told me hardly ever :?: :?: :?: , and away I went. THEN the fun started : :x . Huge Algae Problems - methinks no worries, Change the water (All the water :oops: ). Cloudy Water - off to the Fish Shop to try and get something to fix that. :?