PDA

View Full Version : New here!

Bruno
Fri May 13, 2005, 03:57 AM
Ello everyone,

first of all, sorry for my bad english... im from Quebec

I have a few questions as far as basic keeping of discus, i have done my research and have owned discus before without alot of success. (but i had try to cut cheap everywhere, too much of a small tank, not enougth water changes etc...)

I have some experience in keeping fish, ive had aquariums since i was 5 or something :P... and i now work in a lfs as a part-time for some college $...

anyways, il get to it... i just baught a new 75gallon aquarium (48"x18"x18") and started thinking about discus all over again... i also have a 50gallon with some pretty rare africans (placido yellow electra superior, midnight blue julidos... nice fishies :P) and i love them, but their colours are nowhere near... anyways you guys know what i mean!

Now i know someone who could get me big wild caught Green Tefé's for arround 65$ canadian... wich is a good price imo, since i sell small low quality pigeon bloods for 50 at the store (not my prices... i know we over charge :oops: ). This definatly caught my attention...

But i have some more specific questions concerning water quality. I know they need a low PH arround 6.0-6.5, but i am unsure of the correct KH and GH. My tap water is 7.4, GH 120ppm and Kh 80ppm.

Also what conditionner do you guys use because mine buffers the water a bit..

R/O units are way out of my budget, i was thinking of putting peat moss in my ageing tank with an air stone? would this be enougth?

Some large pieces of driftwood will be added to the tank

I want this tank to be heavily planted, with 4 or 5 Discus and maybe a small school of corydora's.

Thank you all in advance!

-Bruno

p.s. anyone have pictures of an amazone biotope? :)

Insomnia
Fri May 13, 2005, 06:30 AM