PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to clarify some things

Sabrina
Sun Aug 14, 2016, 10:38 AM
Hi all, i am new to Discus fish. Brought my first one 1 month ago, but sadly he passed away (RIP Disco).
The reason i joined up here is because this is a Discus specific site, i am on another fish site which has been helpful as well but i thought it wouldn't hurt to branch out, the more info the better i hope. I believe i lost my first Discus because i had no experience with them, i have been fish keeping for almost 12 months now with other small species like rosy barbs, guppies, mollies, mountain minnows, cory cats, dwarf gourami and betta fighters. Which i have been very successful with.
Its a long story but i currently have 3 other discus, i read that they liked their own company so i brought more, and then ended up with bullies. Currently i have 2 discus in my 120L tank whom get along pretty well most of the time, they actually stick up for themselves so its going ok, they have 6 cory cats in their tank with them. The other discus is a lone male in a 2 foot tank, he is a huge bully and i had great difficulty with him in the main 120L tank with the others, so i got him his own tank knowing full well they like to be in schools of at least 5 discus. He has 3 small fish in with him for company, but i don't think he is happy still and it breaks my heart :( When i buy my new larger tank i hope to introduce him back into the community with the other Discus..
I have some questions i would like to clarify if possible please:
How much room do i need for 1 Discus to live happily? Liters per Discus..
Is it true they need to be in such large schools to be happy? 5-10 Discus..
Is it necessary to do more than 1-2 water changes a week if the tank is cycled?
Is it true that blood worms are like crack to Discus?
Thank you in advance :)

xrboy_85
Mon Aug 15, 2016, 03:20 AM
Hi Sabrina