PDA

View Full Version : Male eating eggs....

fishomc
Wed Oct 09, 2013, 04:07 AM
Hi all.

I'm new to discus and have recently acquired a pair of red scribbelt stendkers. The shop I go them from said they spawns in store and the male ate the eggs shortly after. They are spawning now in my tank and again the male is eating the eggs. He seems not to be attempting to fertilise them at all, instead causally pecking away at the eggs as the female continues to deposit.

My question is, is this something the male is likely to "get right" with more attempts, or is he forever not going understand his role and eat each batch they produce.

They fish are approx 13cm.

Any thoughts/experienced from others would be greatly appreciated.

cheers. :D

scott bowler
Wed Oct 09, 2013, 08:04 AM
hi there fishomc welcome to the forum , well you can try to cage the eggs ,but that depends on where they lay them , or you can take the male out . see how it goes . some times they stop doing it but some times they just keep doing it are they a young pair ?

fishomc
Wed Oct 09, 2013, 08:31 AM
Thanks Scott. I dont think caging the eggs is suitable in this case as the eggs are basically being eaten as the female lays them....the male is not even making passes over the eggs to fertilise them.

Not sure on the age of the pair to be honest....however i would say they would be newly formed pair. I suspect they were purchased from AI (wholesaler) by the shop i got them from recently as individuals, not as a pair, and have since bonded.

Here is an average pic of the pair, you cant see in the pic but the male is behind and has pretty long streamer on the dorsal fin.

I actually only got them Monday and they spawned this afternoon....so have barely had time to look around the new tank!

cheers.

Nathan5
Wed Oct 09, 2013, 11:46 AM