PDA

View Full Version : Yo, Newbie saying hello

Tiger
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 07:46 AM
Hi There, I am a newbie here, saying hi to everybody.

Well, not exactly new to discus but very new to solid discus.
Like to ask if anybody know the origin and difference btw
a) RED Melon
b) Golden Melon
c) Super Melon

tks a million

goldenpigeon
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 07:49 AM
hi tiger and welcome to the discus forum!!!!

i have never heard of gold or super melons. i guess the difference is they are different colours? lol

Katie
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 08:35 AM
Hi Tiger, I was looking at one of the American Discus farms and they had something called a Super Melon. The only difference I could tell was it was a deeper shade of red. I wonder if I can copy the picture to post? Is that allowed?

weird
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 11:07 AM
Well as the saying goes, 'if you have to ask ....'

Why not just post the link in the meantime :D

Opps btw welcome Tiger and Katie :D :D

Katie
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 11:11 AM
Ok Dave...
this is what I was thinking
http://www.rockymountaindiscus.com/super_red_melon_discus.htm
IMHO I like the 'normal' melon better

Merrilyn
Fri Apr 08, 2005, 11:45 AM
Hi tiger, and welcome to the forum.

Since 1989, many new discus strains have been developed in Asia, as a result of genetic mutations and of subsequent crossings and repetitive multi generation inbreeding.

Between 1987 and 1988 a discus emerged that lacked the 9 black bars of the common discus. In addition, the body had no blue colouring and the eye was completely white. This fish, with a ghostly appearance, was commonly called the Ghost Discus. Asian breeders discovered that using this fish in their breeding program, they could remove the bars from the common Thai Red Brown Discus to obtain the Virgin Red Discus.