PDA

View Full Version : heating 20 tanks

random-cichlid
Mon Apr 02, 2012, 01:01 AM
So i was wondering if a centralised sump with a heap of heaters would work
Sump will not be pumping any water thru the tanks as all tanks are separate systems.
What i was hoping to do would be plumb pipes through all tanks in say a u shape, so im pumping hot water thru the pipes and back to the sump
if this seems like it will work let me know
If u have any other ideas i will be interested as i do not want to buy 20 heaters and run them all winter

i dont really have the space to build a new room and insulate it properly

Ghoti
Mon Apr 02, 2012, 03:06 AM
i dont really have the space to build a new room and insulate it properly

Clearly you are aware of the best solution.

I have no experience in the area and can only guess your idea would experience two main issues:
- Loss of heat through the piping required;
- Variance in tank temperature as the last tank in the chain would not have the same heat available as the first (as each tank takes heat from the plumbing source in turn).

My guess would be that if you cant heat the room then the only other options would be a sump per x number of tanks (most likely way fewer than 20) or a heater per tank.

Cheers,
Scott

boxters
Mon Apr 02, 2012, 08:18 AM
cheapest an easiest way contact a gas plumber, install a gas outlet in your fish room. Install a seem gas heater which is cheaper to run than electricity and you are sorted

My electricity bill to heat my 20 tanks at home was about $1950 per quarter
with gas its now only $600 per quarter and the rheem heater cost me $900

random-cichlid
Mon Apr 23, 2012, 08:00 AM
well i give up on any other method im taking the plunge and insulating a room dedicated for my fish and finnaly starting my fish room>