PDA

View Full Version : Head first into Discus & it's steep. Hello folks.

Hiro
Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:15 AM
Would like to introduce myself into my very first Fish Forum, mostly out of necessity since I started keeping Discus. I'm a quick learner, but the amount of variables which can unbalance discus is huge.
I have been keeping fish for 4 yrs, 3 of those in a 4ft community planted tank with good success. My 4ft smashed during the house move (without the fish & yes, devastating) so I built an 8ft stand, put a tank on it & bought some angels as I thought I would go into cichlids, but then discus option came along, and we saw a good sale going on them. I also started a 3ft marine nano. Well, I havent slept as well since then :lol: but the discus is incredibly beautiful & I want/need to expand my knowledge, improve my techniques and develop myself as an aquarist to make a happier home for them, as they have been struggling.

Mr Wild
Mon Dec 12, 2011, 08:35 PM
Well they obviously have plenty on room! But the first thing I see is that you have bough babies and they are more challenging to raise. To get the best from them pop them into a bare bottom tank on their own and feed as often as you can. Water change each day with preconditioned water and you will get quick growth. Worm regularly and wipe down all sides and the bottom when you water change. The when they are older and the feeds have cut down they will be better suited to your tank. Some also say they should never be put with angels as they carry a disease that discus can get. I never mix them but I know others have and have no dramas with it. Just my 2cents worth.

Merrilyn
Tue Dec 13, 2011, 12:07 AM
Welcome to the forum Hiro. Young discus are not easy to raise, and Kath has given you some excellent advice. Once mature, they are much easier to keep. :P

Hiro
Tue Dec 13, 2011, 07:25 AM