PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning

maxpayne40
Sun May 22, 2011, 12:28 AM
As you may have noticed I am asking a lot of questions and am in my second month of discus keeping.

I was cleaning the over the tank hood filter today for my Aqua one 620T tank and noticed that the noodles were a bit 'grimy'. 0Now I know not to clean them in tap water as that will kill the 'good' bacteria. It is fine to wash them off in tank water or should I just leave them alone, someone told me they NEVER need cleaning so just wondering what to do.

And just btw is it fine to add cold water to your tank (when changing only 20-25% of a 132 litre tank - 30lts approx change)?.

Thanks for all your comments

Ghoti
Sun May 22, 2011, 12:38 AM
Hey Max - ask away. I'm also new to the discus caper and am also learning from your questions.

Every couple of months I empty the noodles into my 20lt water change bucket, siphon water from the tank, swish the noodle around then pop them back in my filter. I have not had any ammonia spikes so I figure its all good BUT I am also running a canister filter as well as the one in the hood. I do the canister one month and the hood the next month.

Cheers,
Scott

maxpayne40
Sun May 22, 2011, 01:36 AM
Thanks Scott, I also run a canister filter and the hood one also. Started the canister about 2 weeks ago and the Hood one has been running for just over 5 weeks. Cleaned the hood one twice now (not noodles) by just washing the wool/carbon and sponge in tank water and cleaning the spray bar. Ordered replacement wool/carbon one as I assume in the first two months it could cop a hiding just cycling/cleaning.