PDA

View Full Version : discus help needed

james1969
Sat Apr 23, 2011, 09:20 AM
Hi all Im new to keeping discus and wanting some help !! I have recently purchased 2 snakeskin discus one is good but the other one just seems to hide in the corner an has gone really dark since we got it, also it dosnt seem to eat even when the food goes straight past it.. any help would be great dnt want 2 lose my fish thanks

swifto
Sat Apr 23, 2011, 10:57 AM
hi,some discus can take up to 24hrs to come out after being placed into the tank and eat,maybe they are just still a little bit stressed.how long ago did u place them in the tank.whats your ph,ammonia ,nitrite nitrate levels,also turn off the tank lights.this should help

james1969
Sat Apr 23, 2011, 12:07 PM
i put them in the tank about three weeks ago the ph is 6.5 and im still doing water changes about every 4 day to keep the ammona out and i do regular tests and the nitrite is 0 im new so i hope im doing it rite any help would be great

BobbyBruce
Sat Apr 23, 2011, 02:57 PM
Hi James,

To help people will need to know;

The volume of your tank,

How much water you are changing,

How you are preparing the water you are adding,

What your readings are for ammonia, and

How old is your filter.

You won't get a nitrIte reading until you have established a colony of bacteria in the filter to convert ammonia to nitrIte.

Once your bacterial colonies are producing nitrIte you will then be developing another colony of bacteria which break down the nitrIte into nitrAte.

If your filter has not been cycled to produce the bacterial colonies then it is not going to be effective in controlling the amounts of ammonia produced by your fish.

You need to get an ammonia test kit as soon as possible and measure your ammonia levels before and after water changes. You are aiming for ZERO ammonia after your changes. You may need to step up your water changes to a more regular basis until your filter is cycled.