PDA

View Full Version : Discus Maintenance -- An absolute beginners guide

Sydney Dean
Wed Apr 13, 2011, 08:36 AM
Hi all.
I'm no professional at keeping discus, in fact I've only had one 2 months, however I needed to throw together a "how to" guide for my mother who will be looking after the tank while I'm on holidays.

Thought I'd post it here for your feedback / pleasure.
If you've got any tips, please let me know!
Thanks.

(BTW, we're on the Coast of Australia, our buckets are 10L, the food is New Life Spectrum Discuss Formula 1mm sinking pellets, the Neutral Regulator is Seachem 250g treats 500-1000 gallons, and the PH down is aqua One 2g per 40L to lower by 0.4PH per 24hrs)

FEEDING

How Often:
You must feed the fish every day. Twice a day is better, 3 times a day is alright too.

How Much:
• A Small pinch of the pellets is good.
• If they've finished eating after a minute, then give them some more.
• If there's still food lying around after 5 minutes, you've given them too much, and should scoop the extra out with the net.

Warning:
• If you don't feed them often enough, they'll start biting each other's fins. Then the fins get infected, the fish dies and the decomposing body poisons the tank.
• If you feed them too much in one go, the leftover food will poison the tank.
• The food is dead fish. If you handle it with your hands, you should wash your hands.

CHECKING UP ON THE FISH

How Often:
Every day or two.

What to check:
• Check the filter is running.
• Check the temperature is between 27 - 30 degrees.
• Check all the fish are there. (If any have died, find them and remove them with the net.)

Fish Checklist:
• 1 Discus -- the big one :)
• 1 Loach – Large one with black / orange stripes
• 1 Glass Catfish – The see-through one, hides in the plants
• 1 Dark-Green with clear fins
• 1 Black with black fins
• 1 Red with black fins
• 1 Red with red fins
• 2 Rummynose -- red heads, and black / white striped tails