PDA

View Full Version : Time for change

Hollowman
Mon Mar 14, 2011, 11:11 PM
Maybe some of you, my friends have noticed that I have not been around much lately, maybe not :( But I have made the decision to give my beautiful fish hobby a rest for a while, maybe for good here. I have shut down my system, sold all my fish, albino discus, wild Scalre angels and my pairs of breeding Sterbai. The tanks are drained, pipework all thrown in the skip and tanks and RO system sold.

I have been keeping discus for the last 20+ years so it has not been easy to say goodbye to them, but the time had come.

To all my friends here on the forum, I wish to thank you for the interaction we have shared, sometimes argumentative :evil: , sometimes fun :lol: , sometimes encouraging :wink: and sometimes to consol :cry: and sometimes just to take the mick :roll: But I always tried to put the fish first, that is why we are all here.

I have never met any of you guys as I am on the other side of the planet, but I have enjoyed the banter we all shared, and feel like I know some of you well.

My reasons for my absence is because my life is changing, different priorities, evolving, taking me to places I only dreamed of. My fish started to become secondary and I could not give them the dedication they deserved. I am in fact moving within the next year to the far east, to the Philippines. I have a house and farm there, and next month I will marry my fiancee. So, giving it all up for love... :roll: I hear you say.... am I crazy?? no, it's just sometimes you have to have a break. I am going to the Philippines for 5 weeks next month so leaving others to look after the system was not on the cards. I do hope one day to have more tanks when i get settled again, possibly collecting native fish from the beautiful rivers that run near my new home.

So, I will try to drop in every now and then to see how you guys are getting on.

thanks for everything.

Steve :)

swampy1972
Mon Mar 14, 2011, 11:33 PM