PDA

View Full Version : From bets to discus ... newbie in Melbourne

Bec
Sun Mar 13, 2011, 12:50 PM
Hi all,

I am thinking about changing the fish I keep. I have been keeping fish for about two years, and mostly I have kept fighters. I also keep a community tank with angels, gourami, neons and bristlenose and the odd guppie as well as a tank of goldfish.

I have found the fighters are very difficult fish to keep! Each fish needs its own ten litre tank, with heating and filtration (yes, fully cycled) and given these conditions I still do a twice weekly 30% water change. On the odd week that I have missed even one of the bi-weekly changes I find I get problems with the fish.

My main display tank is a six foot tank that houses eleven individual internal tanks (each with its own filtration) and around these tanks swim a harem of female fighters. It was a huge challenge to make but it works well. The fighters have been an interesting fish to keep but I would like something with a bit more size and presence for the amount of work I put into my fish keeping.

So I am keen to try discus. I have a few questions though. How deep should my tank be? Will discus do OK in a 6x1.5x1.5 foot tank? I am thinking about six discus in a tank that size. If I get the Ph right (I have a good handle on the ammonia cycle already ... learned about that the hard way when I bought my first fighter home and he died in a week :( . I had no idea but a good forum helped immensely).

How hard are the discus to keep? I read conflicting stories. I am about to move and will only have tank water so am thinking that will help a bit. I never have any issues with either my goldie or community tank, they are always healthy and happy and so much easier to maintain than the multitude of small tanks.

Any advice would be much appreciated ... this time around I will be well prepared before the first fish crosses my doorstep!

Bec

Ghoti
Sun Mar 13, 2011, 10:21 PM