PDA

View Full Version : Questions about choosing discus (pics)

Bass
Sat Oct 30, 2010, 10:09 AM
Hi guys, fantastic forum you got here =)
First of all, im new to aquariums.. always been a dream but never got to it until now.

Right now i have a Juwel Vision 260L, but the pump sounded like mad, so i ended up getting an external filter Eheim Pro3e 2074.
This is how it looks

http://bassel.se/diskus/260L_4.jpg

I started the tank 3 weeks ago, but had to do a complete water change 2 weeks ago, so its not that old.
Right now i have 30 small cardinal tetras, and yesterday i added 8 small Sterbai into the tank.

The 10th november (11 days) i got the opportunity to get some discus.
Im thinking 4 Red Turquoise (8cm), and 2 Leopard (9cm).
These are the fishes:
http://www.bassel.se/diskus/K1.jpg
http://www.bassel.se/diskus/K2.jpg

Ok, my questions:
I know its a bit early for the tank to let them in when its only 11 more days for the bacterias to get strong. But i was hoping that i can be extra carefull when feeding the first week or so.

1. Do the stripes go away more in time? The black ones, (stressbars?)
2. Im not sure how old these are, but at what size/age do you see if you got a pair that is going to try and mate?
3. Can a leopard and Red Turquoise make pair and mate?

Any other tips for a soon to become Discus owner =)

Regards Bass

Mr Wild
Sat Oct 30, 2010, 11:33 AM
Ok I will be the baddy here. The truth is, it is WAY too early to be adding discus to that tank. Of course if you have money to burn go right ahead and when they die I can yep thought so.

The truth is discus like a mature tank and some knowledge of their requirements would be a good place to start. The tank looks go as far as furniture goes but there would hardly be any good numbers of beneficial bacteria built up so far.