PDA

View Full Version : Apistogramma trio or pair?

ardbeg
Fri Oct 29, 2010, 01:21 AM
Hi all

Newbie here, and Iv got a question for all the Apisto experts out there - what success have you had with keeping a trio (1m 2f).

I understand there are ALOT of variables that can go into this (species, tank size, tank mates etc etc) but Im keen to here what experiences people have had with a trio.

Did they get along fine, or did the sub-dom female usually get beaten up?

Thanks a lot for you time.

Hassles
Fri Oct 29, 2010, 04:14 AM
Hi all

Newbie here, and Iv got a question for all the Apisto experts out there - what success have you had with keeping a trio (1m 2f).

I understand there are ALOT of variables that can go into this (species, tank size, tank mates etc etc) but Im keen to here what experiences people have had with a trio.

Did they get along fine, or did the sub-dom female usually get beaten up?

Thanks a lot for you time.

Keeping a trio of most Apistogramma is fine providing adequate space is provided and that within that space an adequate array of rocks, plants & driftwood exist. Its as simple as that. Many Apisto breeders breed in standard 2 foot tanks and will usually opt for pairs in such confined quarters and then they will seperate them once fry emerge. I have only successfully kept / bred A.abacaxis as a trio in a 2 footer, all other species were kept as pairs OR in larger tanks. Personally I would suiggest a 3 footer as minimum to maximisew your chances OR literally stuff the tank chock full of stuff so all fish my easily hide if they need or desire to.

take care

ardbeg
Fri Oct 29, 2010, 05:34 AM
Thankyou for the advice Hassles. You confirmed what I thought, with enough room and hidey holes all should be fine, generally.