PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

fair1889
Thu Oct 14, 2010, 07:45 PM
Hi, as the title says I am new to discus. I have kept and bred a variety of fish including Plecs, angels and have been concentrating on Apistogrammas over the last couple of years.
I am due to pick up 4 Red Eagle discus shortly . Two are around 6" the other 2 around 3". They have been kept together in a shop (tho not for sale) and now the shop is closing down I am taking them. I have a 180litre tank that I have sterilised and refilled over the last few weeks. I has a tetra ex 700 filter( mature) and a large foam filter running it. I have put sand in as substrate and planned to add some young home bred Cory Sterbai. My questions are is it best to leave the cory out for now and just house the discus? They have various tankmates in the shop.
I was planning daily water changes of 20%. with hma water , ph7 tds110/130.
My other fish get live food a couple of times a week ( brineshrimp, daphnia, bloodworm) and thrive on it . I know bloodworm is not recommended , what about other live food.
Any tips or advice would be great

Sorry for the long post

Hollowman
Thu Oct 14, 2010, 10:18 PM
What are red eagles? must be a new strain........... :roll:

Welcome btw

fair1889
Fri Oct 15, 2010, 07:03 AM
Sorry, why the rolling eyes? have I committed some discus schoolboy error! Thats what the owner of a reputable shop has them down as and they appear on a lot of import list when googled, so I dont understand.
Oh and thanks for all the advice :?
btw thanks for the welcome

lpiasente
Fri Oct 15, 2010, 07:31 AM
some lps put fancy names on some discus strains so they can get more money out of unknowing people. Looking forward to actually seeing some pics of the discus. The cories are a good companion for the discus. Live brine will be good.

fair1889
Fri Oct 15, 2010, 08:02 AM
Thank you for your reply.
I will post pictures soon

Hollowman
Fri Oct 15, 2010, 08:31 AM