PDA

View Full Version : frightened discus won't eat

lis
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 01:27 AM
:D Hi everyone I'm new to keeping discus and am very keen for help. my six discus arrived and look really healthy to me but they won't eat yet. They seem scared of the other fish in the tnk(neons,cardinals, rummy nose,corys,1 flying fox. When they meet in the tnk they take off and hide near heater and plants and because the others hurrily eat, the discus are too scared to eat. Help :?

Mickey C
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 02:00 AM
Hi Lis - Welcome!

Have you taken some water readings at all since introducing your new discus? Also, what temperature is your water at?

What are you trying to feed them at the moment? Few background questions will help a little :)

lis
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 03:10 AM
:D Hi mickeyc. I tested the parameters yesterday before i picked fish up and 0 nitrites 0 ammonia trace nitrates gh 60 kh 40 ph 7 because breeders tanks were 7. Temp this morning 29.9. I use ro water and add discus trace back to buffer ! :roll:

lis
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 03:24 AM
p.s. I have tried them on blood worm and brine shrimp!

Mickey C
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 05:04 AM
Sounds like a perfect tank to me :)

If you've only just picked them up I might suggest allowing them 2 or 3 days - the more experienced guys may have other options as to how to get them eating right now. It may just be a case of new surroundings, new fish to deal with, and getting used to your feeding routine.

Even with other species I've found they don't always eat for the first day or two. That's until they realise that the lights coming on means food is on its way :) Have a quick read in the emergency room and illness areas, there's a few different threads on what to do next, like specific foods they can't seem to resist or using something like garlic guard (I think it is) to really get them chomping food down :)

Oh, and PICS PICS!! :D

lis
Wed Sep 01, 2010, 05:18 AM