PDA

View Full Version : Deformity or Infection

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 07:21 AM
I am new to discus although I've kept other cichlids, and I'm just stocking my tank. One of my latest acquisitions has a lump/growth at the base and slightly forward of the gill on one side. It is quite prominent from the front.
This fish was bullied for a short while but the pecking order seems to have been sorted now. As it has taken to hiding it's difficult to check, but when I have seen this fish in the tank it doesn't seem to have lost any colour. I've checked the water and all seems within parameters there, though I would prefer to be slightly more acidic (ph 7) Any ideas please?

boxters
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 07:37 AM
You really need to post a pic so we can advise you better

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 09:42 AM
Thanks. Sorry the picture quality is a bit dodgy.

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 09:49 AM
Having trouble with attachment which is 84.2kb
Upload error: could not upload attachment to ./files/growth-.jpg

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 10:09 AM
http://i924.photobucket.com/albums/ad82/flatbadger1/Growth.jpg

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 10:11 AM
Okay, got the picture through photobucket, thanks to the forum. As you can see the growth is on the right hand side. The gill looks as if it's being held open slightly as well.

boxters
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 10:36 AM
its not a very good pic. I need something closer and from the side as well. I can say that this fish is not in good health. Its sitting at the bottom of the tank, is dark in colour. These are all signs of stress. This growth could be a tumor. It is likely that this fish would be better off put down humanely. But first lets see if we can get a better pic

Hollowman
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 02:58 PM
Hmm, better pic needed. Your ph is fine btw, dont mess with the ph. What do you call 'within' parmerters?

Looks by the poor pic, a bit dark to me, not a happy camper.

Flatbadger
Sun Aug 22, 2010, 05:26 PM